The p word

It seems that I have made it into the celebrated territory of the second trimester.  Unfortunately, nobody remembered to inform the welcoming committee.  Although the vomiting has begun to subside the past week or so, the nausea has not gotten the message to leave me in peace.  Nor have the headaches or other digestive ailments. I’m afraid that the much welcomed energy boost hasn’t been delivered either.  But, sadly, it’s the 2nd trimester gift that I covet more than anything that is by far the least likely to make it’s way to my doorstep: confidence.

In the vast majority of pregnancies, about 95%, the presence of a strong heartbeat after around 12 weeks pretty much guarantees a good outcome.  I am the 5%.  I am second and third trimester loss due to unexplained placental issues.  And for this reason I am seriously contemplating the idea of not telling my family about this pregnancy unless or until I deliver a live baby.

I am scheduled for an ultrasound in a couple of weeks that should give us some important information on growth and development as well as placental health.  In the meantime, I think that I am beginning to develop an abdominal protrusion/enlarging midsection/fat belly/kangaroo pocket/baby bump or whatever you want to call it. I continue to take it one day at a time with measured doses of caution and hope. There is no reassurance that things will be all right. But, so far at least, there is not concrete reason to believe that they won’t.

9 thoughts on “The p word

  1. Congratulations on making it to this milestone … wishing it were easier from here on in, but knowing that you’ll do this breath by breath. I’m going to strike up the band anyway, if you don’t mind. 🙂

    1. And … p is also for pizzelle. I wish I had a pizzelle-maker to send you some. 🙂 Seriously, you want cookies, I am your woman … they are comfort food of the highest order.

  2. I will be your welcoming committee 🙂 yay! One milestone hit. I would do whatever you need to do about telling/showing family. Hang in there, lady. Maybe we can meet up for a slow lunch sometime 🙂

  3. Thank you ladies! You have the right spirit. Since I can’t quite manage to conjure it up on my own, I am super grateful that someone can break out the champagne glasses!

    And jjiraffe, I would love to meet up for a slow lunch sometime. Sounds lovely!

  4. I’m happy to join everyone else in welcoming you to any and all milestones along the way–congratulations on being in the second trimester! I completely understand the choice to not tell family and friends until the baby arrives. I did the same–my non-local friends knew nothing until I sent an email birth announcement, and I only sent that when the baby reached six weeks old. Take your time, do whatever makes you feel comfortable, and stay calm. You’re doing great!

    Am popping open the virtual champagne bottle, taking a sip, and raising a glass in your honor!

  5. I sure can’t imagine the stress of being in that 5%. And I bet you get a lot of well-meaning casualness from people. Oh, it will be FIIIIIINE! You’re being silly for worrying! Uggh. BUT! I’m betting you’re going to have a perfect scan, and I hope it will give you a warm glow of comfort for at least a moment or two…

    I’ll have a margarita for you! And though of course you know more about being pregnant that I likely ever will, I do recall that my headaches and nausea and hideous heartburn lasted until 15 weeks. I hope yours abate soon!

  6. Hoping for the best for you, you should indeed celebrate this milestone!! And don’t tell anyone until you’re good and ready. They’ll be happy to hear the news whenever you tell them.

Leave a Reply

