Silence

No thuds yet, graciously.

The spotting stopped fairly quickly and has not returned since.  I debated calling my doctor, for reassurance, of course, but I decided against it, mostly because I know that there is really nothing she or anyone can DO right now.  It is far too early for delivery and, sadly, there is little else to be done.  Second trimester spotting is usually a result of something affecting the placenta and all we can really do is wait and hope.  Wait and hope.

I suppose that 24 hours of serenity is better than nothing at all.

In the meantime, a huge thank you for your supportive comments.  I am hanging on dearly to the knowledge that this could turn out just fine.

16 thoughts on “Silence

  1. No guarantees but hope has been my obstetrical motto since we experienced an in-utero demise of one of our twins.

    I also agree with your attitude of not taking action when it can’t change what you will do.

    Good thoughts, prayers, hopes and more.

  2. I’ve been reading but unable to comment, and am so sorry about the horrible horrible spotting episode, and hate the fact that it showed up in such proximity to your attempts to be a normal pregnant woman. I want you to be a regular old pregnant woman! Regular regular regular, with a regular old amazing and perfect baby at the end of this. I’ll keep hoping for this.

  3. Hi there!
    Here from LFCA – so sorry about your scare! I’m three losses in and 13 weeks along and had a really similar thing happen to me last week. It turned out to be a low-lying placenta and I was put on bed rest. I definitely think it’s worth getting checked out because if it is a low placenta it should definitely be monitored.
    Wishing you lots of luck!

  4. Lesley

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. It could also just be an irritable cervix. I think that if you had it checked out, they could see whether it was mild placental abruption vs. an irritable cervix (vs. various other possibilities). It would be nice to just get the ‘irritable cervix’ verdict and not have to worry about it. If it’s something worse, but that could be prevented from progressing with bedrest, it would probably be good to know that, too. My 2 cents, anyways. I’m sure it’s nothing.

  5. Hi! Here from LFCA….SO glad the spotting stopped. I have to echo Lesley, and say, please go get some reassurance from you OB. Hoping everything continues to be totally uneventful for the rest of your pregnancy!!!!!!!! Best wishes.

  6. First, thank you for commenting on my blog and your encouragement. I hope I can encourage you too! I am so sorry you are going through this- how scary. Praying that it’s nothing and for a healthy rest of your pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

