6

When I was one,
I had just begun.
When I was two,
I was nearly new.
When I was three,
I was hardly me.
When I was four,
I was not much more.
When I was five,
I was just alive.
But now I am six,
I’m as clever as clever.
So I think I’ll be six
now and forever.

A.A. Milne

My dearest g,

After 6 years together, I finally feel like I’m getting to know you.  I say this mostly to celebrate the fact that I’ve been paying attention.  Like an anthropologist, I find myself carefully observing, trying in earnest (and so often in vain) to paddle upstream of my assumptions about who you should be.

5 was a splendid and terrifying adventure. But 6 is uncharted territory.  It turns out, you’ve taught me, that people do change.  All the time, in fact, but never in ways that can be easily predicted or influenced. Just look at your mother.

We returned briefly this past year to that unspeakable place where I can no longer pretend that I have any say in how long you will be mine.  But , like Tigger, or your beloved Caracal cat, you bounced, showing me once again that you’re so much stronger than my fears.

This little journey is my greatest adventure.  And so to 6 I say this: bring it on!

gio

2 thoughts on “6

Leave a Reply

